(Aspiring) Author, Travis Weston

Hoping To Drop The (Aspiring) Soon Enough

To You – Letter #3

April 1st, 1994

To You,

What the hell were you thinking? You hadn’t had that gun more than 20 minutes and you go ahead and shoot the glass out of the damn window? God, sometimes I think you try to piss me off. I’m just glad we decided to go with the BB gun and not the .22 that I had original thought to get, though I suppose if we had this would have been avoided, since there’s no way in hell I’d have let you out of the house alone with a 22 caliber rifle.

I’m sorry, this letter isn’t meant to yell at you, but boy do you frustrate me sometimes, and I can’t hide that from you. You may never remember this day ever happened, but I will, and now you know about it. I want you to read these, I want you to know, so you can be prepared for the day that you have kids. If you do.

The doctor’s are saying that you’re remarkably healthy for a kid who’s had cancer twice now. I quit smoking, you might not remember that either, and we did try to hide it, but I really think your mother blamed me for your cancer, even though the doctor’s told her it wasn’t that kind of cancer. It’s just unlucky.

On the outside, you’re a healthy kid, and if you’re reading this now you must have survived it all, so look back with a smile on your face, and just tell the world “This is me, look what I have accomplished.”

Love,

Dad

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

